Grief is an invitation

Blessed are those who mourn“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” Matthew 5:4
Sometimes black clouds roll in. The sky opens up in a nasty gash and pours out grief. That’s where I find myself today. Over the last four years I’ve moved three times, endured church instability, stood in the rawest of places to witness disabled people suffer, have been misunderstood, witnessed intimately the pain caused by cancer, said goodbye, wrestled with the sovereignty of God, and have been bent low in a posture of need. My heart has nowhere else to go but grief. Prayers have turned to tears.

Sin is a big deal. It’s effect stretches through all of creation and human life. If it wasn’t a big deal, the payment for sin wouldn’t be death. Not one inch of this world has escaped the price of sin. All of creation grieves her fall from glory. (Romans 8)

Grief can be personal, the private wrestle with failed health, the daily longing for a lost loved one, the ache for a rebellious teenager. Grief touches our hearts in a thousand ways though out a life time.  

But it’s also appropriate to grieve the scar of sin across creation, the suffering of a people group, the sin of a respected leader. Just a simple glance at the news gives us reason for sorrow. Mourning is an invitation to join in an expression of our Father’s heart. Aware that we will grieve, even inviting us to mourn – he has provided.

Psalm 84:6 “When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, it will become a place of refreshing springs.” How? “A single day in your courts is better than a thousand anywhere else!” (vs. 10) Our comfort and refreshing is his presence.

Just like anything, mourning can become worship. It’s a holy work. Not to be despised or shunned. Grief isn’t a land that should be lived in, but rather a season, important to the rhythm of life.

If you find yourself in a season of mourning, invite God to be present. He has promised comfort. If you are walking in a season of joy, celebrate God’s good gift. Every season comes from him!

2 thoughts on “Grief is an invitation

  1. Thanks for sharing these wonderful insights on grief, Beck. I know we talked…I talked…you listened when I shared my heart about losing my mom and dad. It still amazes me how when I least expect it…something will just open the floodgates on all my “ache” in missing them. Then there’s no holding it back. I know it’s healthy to let it out but I really hate not knowing when it’s gonna hit!
    I LOVE that you love words! I really do too! I’m not gifted the way you are to let the “pen flow” but I really love reading them. I would love to read more of your stuff and CAN’T WAIT to read your new novel!
    Really looking forward to our staff-wives time together this weekend. ❤
    Mitzi

    • It’s a treat to find a kindred spirit! Thankful for our time together and looking forward to more. I love being a writer and I’m terrified of being a writer. Thank you for the encouragement!

I love a good conversation! Share your thoughts and let's get one started!

