I’m Not Done Risking Rejection

If you’ve been reading my blog this month you’ll notice I’ve been talking about risking rejection. One of the risks I’ve taken is to write a story, publicly, on my blog. (Come back tomorrow for part 2 of Dixie’s story!) I also mentioned last week that I’m stepping out to pray risky prayers.

Well, the Risk Rejection project is coming to an end. This is the last official week of risk taking. I’ve learned a lot and I’ve been encouraged by the group of women who have been stepping out in risk as well. (A big whoop whoop to you ladies!)

While I don’t feel I’ve taken a lot of dramatic risks this month I have thought a lot about the risks I’ve taken in the past and the risks I’d like to take in the future.

One thought that’s stood out from all of that thinking is this; I’m not opposed to risk taking, actually I quite like it, but I do get sweaty when it comes to risking rejection. For some reason there’s a difference. If a risk may lead to a loss of money, property damage, injury, inconvenience, hardship, fatigue, etc. I’m willing to weigh that risk and take it. But if I think someone I respect or admire may disapprove or people will misunderstand, if it leads to rejection, that freezes me in my tracks.

Which has taught me a lot about where my focus should be. And it takes me right back to risky praying. When we’re kept by Christ, indwelt by his Spirit, accepted by the Father, risk just doesn’t feel so risky anymore – it feels like faith. It leads us to ask according to his will, certain of his love, unafraid of what the outcome will be. His opinion will be all that matters which frees us up to love.

Even though this month of risk taking is officially over I know it’s really just been the beginning. I plan on continuing to pray big prayers for my family, community, and world. Prayers God just might ask me to be the answer too. I plan on continuing to write – we’ve still got a long way to go with Dixie! I’ve also been tossing around the idea of visiting our local assisted living to gather resident’s stories. I want to learn how to be a better storyteller. And I’m sure all kinds of new risks will present themselves.

I want to be the kind of person who embraces risks, regardless of the cost. Not risks for risks sake, just for a cheap thrill or attention. Risks that are born of faith, risks that look a lot like Peter stepping out of the boat and walking to Jesus. Risks that are for my neighbor’s good and defy my comfort. Risks that say – I trust.

So here is to a year of risking rejection! Of practicing digging deep into my heart and going with it. Of letting Jesus lead in Jesus sized ways, even if where he’s taking me looks impossible!

What about you? Is God calling you to trust him in a particular area of your life? Are you willing to risk?

16 thoughts on “I’m Not Done Risking Rejection

  1. Soooo, I haven’t even started Dixie’s story, and I must do that! Thrilled you decided to join us this month, Beck. It was fun getting to know you more and better. I think the part of this post that really rings true is this sentence:

    ” And it takes me right back to risky praying. When we’re kept by Christ, indwelt by his Spirit, accepted by the Father, risk just doesn’t feel so risky anymore – it feels like faith.”

    Isn’t it funny how the risks of our heart are tied to faith? Of course. Fantastic summary.

  2. “His opinion will be all that matters which frees us up to love.” – wow, yes, I want that in my life. It really does create room for more love when we are solely focused on his opinion. Love this!

  3. This. This. This just grabs me “letting Jesus lead in Jesus sized ways!” Why is that so hard? I think I want to take control most of the time. And I think too that when He leads others don’t understand and I want everyone to understand and to like me. 🙂 So proud of your risks this month. Glad to hear your keeping up risking – you encourage me to do the same. Here’s to risking 2014!!!

  4. I agree… This #RiskRejection challenge is just the beginning! One place I know you *will not* experience rejection is the assisted living facility. That’s on your heart for a reason, so I hope you’ll follow through. You’ll probably learn a lot about storytelling just by listening to some of those men and women. There’s something about that generation that is so “real” and so much “fun”… and totally unlike adults today. AND your interest will bless them more than you will ever know. Go for it – then tell us all about it!

  5. Right now, I feel like the moment I put my foot on the floor – I am starting a risk journey – where I am challenged throughout the daily – by everything – to be who God called me to be – to my boys, to my co-workers, to strangers, to my husband – to people in my camp and out. If God didn’t go with me, I’d stay in bed! I love this journey you have been on with Amy and this group of women!!!

I love a good conversation! Share your thoughts and let's get one started!

