Writing is risky business, this is why I write.

This is why I write.

MeandNikolacrop

A young man living in Serbia’s mental institution Dom Veternik.

Serbia 2012 (354)

A precious boy who captured my heart on my first visit to Serbia. He lives his life in that crib.

BeckandGordana2edit

Gordana fights prostitution and hopelessness among the women of her community in Novi Sad, Serbia. She is my hero.

I write to make a difference.

My dream is for writing to become a source of income so that I can support causes I believe in, as well as develop a platform to raise awareness for issues and people I’m passionate about. Eighteen months ago I traveled to Serbia, this summer I returned. I met amazing people. Some of them live in social isolation due to mental and physical disabilities. Many of them are courageous, fighting injustice, poverty, and social evil with love. I believe in them and more than anything I want to put actions and resources behind those words.

I wouldn’t be totally honest if I didn’t say I also write because I have something to say and I want to touch your heart with the words I write. I write because it’s freeing and exciting and what I love. I write because that’s how God has shaped my heart. Playing with words is as delightful to me as playing with play-doh is to a toddler.

But when it’s all said and done, if my words haven’t made a difference, then I haven’t succeeded.

Sometimes submitting a piece of writing to a magazine or blog feels like knocking on a door while standing in my underwear. Putting my heart and ideas onto (virtual) paper is intimidating. But success is born of bravery, so I keep knocking.

I believe in the power of story to bring about change. 

As part of the Risk Rejection challenge happening at Amy Sullivan’s blog I took a risk and asked my very most favorite author to mentor me.  And I was rejected! But it was a very gracious rejection laced with encouragement and blessing. (If you haven’t already, you should totally read my favorite of her books.)

This leads me to the next risk I’ve been dancing around lately. I want to pray risky prayers. I want to ask God to increase my influence and ability. I want to pray prayers about the world that line up with God’s heart and demand courage on my part.

So that’s what I’ve been risking lately – getting involved with the world’s problems, raising my voice, seeking support, and asking a big God for big things!

Why do you do the things you do? What risks have you taken lately?

Friday I’m taking a risk and telling more of Dixie’s story. I hope you’ll join me for that!

(You can click the “follow” button in the sidebar –> to receive my future blog posts in your inbox!)

15 thoughts on “Writing is risky business, this is why I write.

  1. I too believe God is calling to pray some risky prayers as well. They are big prayers that I believe God wants me to boldly prayer. I love you friend and appreciate you.

    • Thanks Amy! I asked if I could adopt, him. My therapist friend who met him thinks he could walk with help. But he’s not available. His parents still have custody, but are too poor to care for him at home. I wear little Cedo like a wound in my heart.

  2. Beck – From someone who has apologized to herself her entire life for “just” being a writer…you make me think bigger, want more for my words! You make me think not about about “what” I write…but “why”. And without the “why” the “what” seems unimportant! Here is to dreaming, to impacting, to advocating through this God-given gift He has given us! You stretch me! I love that!!

I love a good conversation! Share your thoughts and let's get one started!

