Project Thanks ~ Week 3

Project ThanksWe’re half way through the month of November, have you been practicing the habit of thanks with me? Are you noticing you or your children are more naturally on the look out for people to thank? How has showing gratitude affected your family?

As we reflect on becoming people of thanks, memorize what God’s word says about gratitude, and take time to practice actions of thankfulness I’m seeing my children notice people more.

I hoped that would happen. I hoped their naturally selfish little hearts would recognize the people in their world and be willing to engage them.

This week we’re going to focus on civil servants; firemen, police officers, government workers. People who keep our community safe and functioning well. {Of course anyone you see doing a good job is fair game for being thanked!}

My kids and I will bake some more cookies and take them to the fire station just a few blocks away, some brownies for the police station, and some cookies for the school resource officers. Last week my son Max asked if we could give cookies to the school crossing guard. I agreed heartily, thankful he noticed someone in need of thanks all on his own!

We’ll also be meditating on Psalm 100:4, “Enter his gates with thanksgiving; go into his courts with praise. Give thanks to him and praise his name.” I hope you’ll join us in practicing thanksgiving to God and gratitude to others again this week!

Remembering the goodness of God to us and noticing the goodness of others builds our faith and fights our own tendencies to be selfish people. Have you noticed an attitude of gratitude shaping your heart during this month of Thanksgiving? If you’ve taken the time to thank others I’d love to hear about it!

I love a good conversation! Share your thoughts and let's get one started!

